You must set up at least one membership plan to add members to your Cobot space. A membership plan describes the fee charged to your members and how often they can use your space for that fee.
Members will see your list of available plans on your Cobot Signup Page when they sign up. Your member can choose the one that best fits their needs from this list. To add a plan, click on Setup » Plans.
After clicking the Add Plan button, you will be taken to the Basic Settings section of your new plan. This is the first tab of a range of settings which will allow you to customize it fully.
Within the Basic Settings tab, you will be asked to provide your new membership plan with a name, a price per billing period (monthly, quarterly, etc.) and more.
You can enter your spaces Terms & Conditions which new members will then have to accept upon sign up. You can add custom Terms & Conditions for each plan within the Basic Settings, or add general Terms & Conditions for all members under Setup » Basic » Terms & Conditions
When you check the box hidden plan, the plan will not be publicly visible. Instead, there will be a link on the plan page that you can send to people so they can sign up to that particular plan.
Make sure you use generic names for your plans, such as 'Full-Time Membership' or 'Day Pass Plan' as these names will be visible to the public as well as on search engines.
You can choose whether or not members signing up to this plan will need to have their memberships confirmed by an administrator by adjusting the setting labeled 'New members have to be approved.' Once activated, your member will not have access to their member portal until after you have confirmed them.
Billing and Cancellation Period
Currently, all plans supported by Cobot work with a rolling start/end time, depending on the increment you select as your billing period (monthly, quarterly, etc.). For example, if your billing period is set to one month and a member signs up for your space on March 18th, they will pay the monthly fee entitling them to work at your space until April 17th. The membership will automatically be renewed on a monthly basis until they cancel.
If you enter a cancellation period, members will only be able to cancel their membership in the time frame you specify. For example, when someone signs up on May 16th and chooses a plan with a 14-day cancellation period, they have to cancel by June 2nd to leave your space on June 16th. After that, the next possible cancellation date would be July 2nd.
In addition to the Basic Settings, there are four more tabs at the top of the page: Time Passes, Extras, Messages, Bookings and Signup Charge. Click on each to find more settings for your plan.
This section allows you to create plans for members who don't want to work full-time or would like to only pay for time spent in your space (such as drop-ins or non-members). These are further explained in Time Passes.
Extras are items or services your members can book in addition to their plan, ex. A key to the space, mail service or a locker. When you add an extra here, a checkbox will appear on the member's sign-up form, allowing them to choose any number of extras. Extras are billed along with the fee for the membership plan and will appear on the invoice as a separate line item.
If you would like to give your members free time in your resource, then use this section to add Booking Credits.
Example: a full-time member might get 10 hours of meeting room usage for free. After the 10 hours are used up, you can choose to offer a discounted rate for members with this plan or leave the price/h blank to have the regular fees apply (as populated within the Resources Settings).
You can also add a monetary amount that members can apply to one, or multiple resources.
These expire/refill to that amount at the conclusion of each monthly billing cycle.
This section will allow you to add three different kinds of messages; a Welcome Message, a Welcome Message for unconfirmed members and a Signup Message.
The Welcome Message will be displayed to new members within their member portal after they sign up. This is a good place to say hello to your member and give them some instruction on how to use your space or contact details. This will remain at the top of the page every time they log in to their member portal.
The Welcome Message for unconfirmed members will be displayed to new members within their member portal after they sign up and only if you have 'New members have to be approved' activated within their plan settings. This will remain until you have clicked 'confirm' on their membership.
The Signup Message will appear at the bottom of that specific Plans Description box on the signup form. This is a good place to add additional information to your members to explain the next steps in the signup process.
This is where you can add a one time fee such as a deposit, signup charge or admin fee. This will only be applied to the members very first invoice when they are first registered. It will not apply if the member is changing their plan.
💡 Pro Tip: Short-term Plan Discounts
Create a plan that a member signs up for at a discounted price (i.e. 30% Full-time Plan), but set it to change back to a 'regular' plan after 3 months - or any fixed time. The plan will essentially be discounted until that time
IMPORTANT NOTE: You can always change a plan at a later time by going to Setup » Plans and clicking on 'edit'. Any changes made to the master plan in this way will only affect NEW members signing up. Members already on that plan will not have the changes automatically applied.
If you would like to make it so changes to a master plan is applied to existing members, then you will need to do a bulk plan change.
Now that you have your plans setup, you can start Adding Members, or maybe you would like to learn more on how to create custom plans.
Want expert help learning how to set up and maintain
a frictionless member experience?